Investor Relations - Directors and Responsibilities

The page covers the Directors roles and their responsibilities.

Delcam Plc - Directors


Clive Martell (CEO), Hugh Humphreys OBE, Kulwant Singh (FD & CS),
Edward Lambourne, Bart Simpson, Steve Hobbs

Clive Phillip Martell BSc MSc C.Eng MIEE

Chief Executive Officer

Clive Martell

Clive Martell joined Delcam in 1982. He was appointed Marketing Director in 1994 and responsible for Delcam’s European Subsidiaries in 2001. Clive became Group Operations Director in April 2008 before becoming Chief Executive in August 2009. Mr Martell is a Chartered Engineer with a Bachelors degree in Production Engineering and a Masters degree in Machine Tool and Manufacturing Technology from the University of Birmingham.


Hugh Richard Owen Humphreys OBE MSc

Executive Deputy Chairman

Hugh Humphreys

Hugh Humphreys, is one of the founder directors and was Managing Director of Delcam until August 1st 2009 when he became Executive Deputy Chairman. Mr. Humphreys trained as an aircraft engineer and worked for British Aerospace for 10 years before leaving to study for his Masters Degree in Production Management at Birmingham University. He joined the Delta Group in 1974 as an advisor on production and management techniques. Mr. Humphreys led a staff/management buy out in 1989 and the float the company on AIM in 1997. He was awarded the OBE in 1994 recognising Delcam’s export success. He spends part of his time developing the Russian and Ukrainian market for Delcam products and was made an Honorary Professor of Universities in Irkutsk, Samara , Togliatti and Zaporozhe, also an Honorary Doctor of Penza University.


Edward Barrett Lambourne BSc MSc C.Eng. FIET

Technical Director

Edward Lambourne

Edward Lambourne, joined Delta plc in 1973. He was responsible for the initial introduction of CADCAM software into Delta following a two year secondment to Cambridge University to help develop the DUCT CADCAM system, which was the original foundation for Delcam’s products. Mr Lambourne was one of the founders of the business within Delta plc and he was instrumental in the buyout of the company from Delta in 1989. Mr Lambourne is responsible for the Company’s development and IT systems activity, which includes one of the largest mechanical CADCAM development teams in the UK. Mr Lambourne has a Bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering from Nottingham University and a Masters degree from Cambridge University for CADCAM research. He is a Chartered Engineer and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering & Technology.


Kulwant Singh BSc ACA

Finance Director and Company Secretary

Kulwant Singh

Kulwant Singh, is a Chartered Accountant, qualifying with Price Waterhouse and also worked for Haines Watts. He has extensive experience over a wide range of industries and international companies. Mr Singh graduated in 1985 at Birmingham University where he studied Mathematical Statistics. He joined Delcam in 1991 as a Financial Controller and is now responsible for all Group financial aspects and AIM compliance. Mr Singh has been responsible for the controlled growth of the Group which now has shareholdings in over 30 companies overseas.


Bart Simpson BEng

Commercial Director

Bart Simpson

Bart Simpson joined British Aerospace, Space Systems in 1989, working on deployment mechanisms for satellites. Bart continued to work for British Aerospace whilst completing a BEng in Aeronautical Engineering at Salford University. Bart's career at Delcam began in 1993 initially working within the UK Engineering Team before taking a position as PowerMILL Product Marketing Manager. Since 2000 Bart has been Delcam's Marketing Director, managing the groups marketing and support teams. Bart became Commercial Director in 2008 managing marketing and support as well as the development of new sales channels for Delcam's metrology, dental, footwear and Swiss machining products.


Steve Hobbs MA

Development Director

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs graduated in engineering from Cambridge in 1981 while sponsored by MOD. , did a postgraduate course in production engineering (ACPMM) sponsored by Delta group, and joined Delta CAE (later to become Delcam) in early 1983 working on automation and robotics projects including constructing two DTI mobile CAD/CAM demonstration units.From 1990 he focused on developing CAM software, mainly PowerMILL but also ArtCAM and CopyCAD, both developed from results of a DTI-funded research project he managed called MASDD. He has been involved in several EU projects, including IPDES and FIRES. Since 1997 he has been CAM product development director, responsible for all Delcam's machining and metrology software development in the UK, USA and Russia, as well as running the Bespoke Development and Professional Services groups.


Non Executive

Peter Thomas Miles FCA

Non-Executive Chairman

Peter Miles

Peter Miles, was appointed as a non-executive director in April 1997. Mr Miles chairs the Audit Committee. He is a former corporate finance partner in Deloitte & Touche and serves as a non-executive director to several companies.


Geoff McFarland

Non-Executive Director

Peter Miles

Geoffrey McFarland’s appointment took effect following a Board meeting immediately after the AGM in May 2007. He has joined Delcam’s Board following Renishaw’s £6.1 million investment, representing 20 percent of the issued capital, in the business on 23 April 2007. Mr. McFarland has been a director of Renishaw plc since July 2002, and is also a director of Pulse Teq Limited and Metrology Software Products Limited.


Board Responsibilities

The Directors acknowledge their responsibility for the Group's system of internal financial control of which the objectives are:

a) Safeguarding Group assets.

b) Ensuring proper accounting records are maintained.

c) Ensuring that the financial information used within the business and for publication is reliable.

The Key procedures that have operated during the financial year are set out below:

a) The Board meets regularly to review all aspects of the Group's performance concentrating mainly on financial performance. business risks and development.

b) A number of matters are reserved for the Board's specific approval including major capital expenditure, banking and dividend policy.

A Remuneration Committee consists of two non-executive directors, and at present the committee annually reviews the level of director's remuneration packages.

An Audit Committee, comprising of the two non-executive directors meet twice during the year with the auditors and finance director to review the scope of the audit and the audit procedure, the format and content of the audited financial statements.